Leadership Memphis

Leadership Memphis Seeks Nominations for 2022 Change Makers

MEMPHIS, Tenn. – November 10, 2021 – Leadership Memphis is calling on the community to submit nominations for the 2022 Change Makers. Anyone can be nominated online using the Leadership Memphis website at https://leadershipmemphis.org/events/leadership-awards-luncheon-2022/. Nominations close at 5:00 p.m. on December 10, 2021.

Leadership Memphis considers Change Makers to be rare and unique forces of positive change. These dynamic individuals come from various backgrounds and organizations but share a common passion for bettering the world around them. Each Change Makers’ work has enhanced the community, uplifted other people, and made Memphis a better place.

“Leadership Memphis Change Makers are a transformative group of leaders whose positive impact has enhanced the quality of in our city for countless people,” said Reggie Crenshaw, President and CEO of Leadership Memphis and Volunteer Memphis, “We are honored and grateful for the continued support of the community in helping us recognize these outstanding individuals.”

Nominations are open to anyone and after submission, a panel of judges will select ten Change Makers. Leadership Memphis will announce the ten winners during their Leadership Awards Luncheon on March 11, 2022. Anyone with questions about Change Makers criteria or the nomination process can contact Mario Hogue, Director of Development and Engagement, at mhogue@leadershipmemphis.org for more information.


2021 Change Makers

  • Keith Blanchard, President & CEO, Boys & Girls Clubs of Greater Memphis
  • Crystal Clark-Chatman, Founder & CEO, Beautiful Spirited Women
  • Dr. Divya Choudhary, Dean of College of Professional & Graduate Studies, Christian Brothers University
  • Dr. Reginald Coopwood, President & CEO, Regional One Health
  • Judge Bernice Donald, Circuit Judge, U.S. Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit
  • Terri Freeman, Former President, National Civil Rights Museum
  • Jason Little, President & CEO, Baptist Memorial Health Care
  • Dr. Reginald Porter, Sr., Pastor, Metropolitan Baptist Church
  • Alexandria Smith, Chief HR Officer, City of Memphis
  • Leslie Lynn Smith, Former President & CEO, Epicenter


2020 Change Makers

  • Raumesh Akbari, State Senator, Tennessee General Assembly
  • Janet Boscarino, Co-Founder & Executive Director, Clean Memphis
  • Carol Coletta, President & CEO, Memphis River Parks Partnership
  • Willie Gregory, Director of Global Community Impact, Nike
  • Kevin Kane, President/CEO, Memphis Tourism
  • Anne Mathes, Executive Director, Community Legal Center
  • Isaac Rodriguez, Co-Founder & Chief Science Officer, Sweet Bio
  • Richard Shadyac, President/CEO, ALSAC
  • Dwayne Spencer, President/CEO, Habitat for Humanity of Greater Memphis
  • Jan Young, Executive Director, Assisi Foundation


2019 Change Makers

  • Calvin Anderson, Retired Chief of Staff & SVP. BlueCross BlueShield
  • Ekundayo Bandele, Founder/CEO, Hattiloo Theatre
  • Ron Belz, President/CEO, Belz Enterprises Inc.
  • Kathy Buckman Gibson, President/CEO, KBG Technologies
  • Trey Carter, President, Olympic Career Training Institute
  • Staley Cates, Vice-Chairman, Southeastern Asset Management, Inc.
  • Darrell Cobbins, President & Principal Broker, Universal Commercial
  • Adam Cruthirds, Student, Rhodes College
  • Fred Davis, Founder, Fred L. Davis Insurance Agency
  • Meka Egwuekwe, Co-Founder & Executive Director, CodeCrew
  • Marlon Foster, Founder & Executive Director, KnowledgeQuest
  • Art Gilliam, CEO, WLOK-AM 1340
  • Rabbi Micah Greenstein, Senior Rabbi, Temple Israel
  • Carolyn Hardy, President & CEO, Chism Hardy Investments LLC
  • Whitney Hardy, Founder & Executive Director, YoungArtsPatrons
  • Michael Hooks Jr., Owner & CEO, AllWorld Project Management
  • Pitt Hyde III, Founder, Hyde Family Foundation
  • Stan Hyland, Professor, University of Memphis
  • Fred Jones Jr., Founder, Southern Heritage Classic
  • Victoria Jones, Founder, The CLTV
  • Mary McDaniel, Retired President/Owner, FedEx, MHM Consultants, LLC
  • Charles McVean, Chairman & CEO, McVean Trading & Investments
  • Scott Morris, Founder & CEO, Church Health
  • Dr. Keith Norman, Pastor, First Baptist Church – Broad
  • Deanie Parker, Retired President & CEO, Soulsville Foundation
  • David Porter, CEO, Made in Memphis Entertainment
  • Stephen Reynolds, Retired President Emeritus, Baptist Memorial Healthcare
  • Beverly Robertson, President & CEO, Greater Memphis Chamber
  • Kenneth Robinson, President/CEO, United Way of the Mid-South
  • Gayle Rose, Founder & CEO, EVS Corporation
  • Gary Shorb, Executive Director, The Urban Child Institute
  • Fred Smith, Founder, Chairman & CEO, FedEx
  • Susan Stephenson, Co-Founder & President, Independent Bank
  • Henry Turley, Founder & CEO, Henry Turley Company
  • Anita Vaughn, Retired CEO/Administrator, Baptist Memorial Hospital for Women
  • Jose Velazquez, Owner, The James Lee House
  • Yancy Villa – Calvo, Independent Artist
  • Sonia Walker, Associate Pastor, First Congregational Church
  • Spence L. Wilson, Chairman, Kemmons Wilson Companies
  • Lauren Wilson Young, Founder & Owner, Sweet Lala’s Bakery 



Leadership Memphis honors its 2020 Change Makers during the March 6, 2020 Leadership Luncheon.


About Leadership Memphis:

Leadership Memphis is a non-profit, community leadership development organization. Its mission is to prepare and mobilize leaders to work together for the good of the whole community. Originally founded in 1979 as The Memphis Institute of Public Responsibility, Leadership Memphis has graduated more than 3,900 leaders from its programs. For more information, please visit LeadershipMemphis.org.



Scroll to Top