Leadership Memphis

Leadership Memphis Announces 40 Change Makers Who Have Made Memphis Better in the Past 40 Years

MEMPHIS, Tenn., April 25, 2019  – In celebration of its 40th Anniversary, Leadership Memphis is proud to announce 40 Change Makers who have positively impacted Memphis over the past 40 years. The distinguished group of honorees was nominated by the community and their peers, selected by a panel of judges, and will be honored at Leadership Memphis’ 40th Anniversary celebration luncheon on May 21, 2019.

“Leadership Memphis is honored to celebrate its 40th anniversary by recognizing many of the incredible people who have helped shape our city over the past 40 years,” said David Williams, Leadership Memphis President and CEO. “These 40 Change Makers were selected from among an impressive group of some the most accomplished and deserving individuals who have contributed immensely to our community.”

The 40 Change Makers represent a diverse group of leaders who have demonstrated a passion for driving positive change in Memphis Business, Healthcare, Arts/Education, and Nonprofit/Community Involvement.

40 Change Makers

Name Position Organization
Calvin Anderson Retired; Chief of Staff & SVP BlueCross BlueShield
Ekundayo Bandele Founder/CEO Hattiloo Theatre
Ron Belz President/CEO Belz Enterprises Inc.
Kathy Buckman Gibson President/CEO KBG Technologies
Trey Carter President Olympic Career Training Institute
Staley Cates Vice-Chairman Southeastern Asset Management, Inc.
Darrell Cobbins President & Principal Broker Universal Commercial
Adam Cruthirds Student Rhodes College
Fred Davis Founder Fred L. Davis Insurance Agency
Meka Egwuekwe Co-Founder & Executive Director CodeCrew
Marlon Foster Founder & Executive Director KnowledgeQuest
Art Gilliam CEO WLOK-AM 1340
Rabbi Micah Greenstein Senior Rabbi Temple Israel
Carolyn Hardy President & CEO Chism Hardy Investments LLC
Whitney Hardy Founder & Executive Director YoungArtsPatrons
Michael Hooks Jr. Owner & CEO AllWorld Project Management
Pitt Hyde III Founder Hyde Family Foundation
Dr. Stan Hyland Professor University of Memphis
Fred Jones Jr. Founder Southern Heritage Classic
Victoria Jones Founder The CLTV
Mary McDaniel Retired; President/Owner FedEx; MHM Consultants, LLC
Charles McVean Chairman & CEO McVean Trading & Investments
Dr. Scott Morris Founder & CEO Church Health
Rev. Dr. Keith Norman Pastor; Vice President of Government Affairs First Baptist Church-Broad; Baptist Memorial Healthcare
Deanie Parker Retired; President & CEO Soulsville Foundation
David Porter CEO Made in Memphis Entertainment
Stephen Reynolds Retired; President Emeritus Baptist Memorial Healthcare
Beverly Robertson President & CEO Greater Memphis Chamber
Dr. Kenneth Robinson President/CEO United Way of the Mid-South
Gayle Rose Founder & CEO EVS Corporation
Gary Shorb Executive Director The Urban Child Institute
Fred Smith Founder, Chairman & CEO FedEx
Susan Stephenson Co-Founder & President Independent Bank
Henry Turley Founder & CEO Henry Turley Company
Anita Vaughn Retired; CEO/Administrator Baptist Memorial Hospital for Women
Jose Velazquez Owner The James Lee House
Yancy Villa – Calvo Independent Artist
Rev. Sonia Walker Associate Pastor First Congregational Church
Spence L. Wilson Chairman Kemmons Wilson Companies
Lauren Wilson Young Founder & Owner Sweet Lala’s Bakery

The Leadership Memphis 40th Anniversary Luncheon is Tuesday, May 21, 2019, at Hilton Memphis. To purchase table sponsorships, contact David Williams, President and CEO, at 901-628-6156 or dwilliams@leadershipmemphis.org.

Scroll to Top